Team Ninja Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Team Ninja Bulletin Board > The Lounge > Computer Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th December 2001, 05:47 PM
jema jema is offline
Ninja Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Swindon,UK
Posts: 11,772
kt7a failing to post

Following a knock that apparently never occurred according to a child of mine
I have a Duron kt7a that emits a single very short beep on turn on and fails to show any video output.
I cleared the cmos and once after this it did post video, but is now not posting again

Any ideas

jema
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th December 2001, 05:50 PM
jema jema is offline
Ninja Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Swindon,UK
Posts: 11,772
If I remove the video card I get the long, short, short beep of failing to post video.

jema
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th December 2001, 06:05 PM
jema jema is offline
Ninja Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Swindon,UK
Posts: 11,772
Sticking in an old pci video card, it seems to get up and running some of the time, but still not very consistently

jema
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th December 2001, 07:24 PM
Mad Bad John's Avatar
Mad Bad John Mad Bad John is offline
Ninja Taii
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Coventry U.K.
Posts: 839
Start with the basics Jema - how about a different PSU if that fails pull out all non essential cards & check cpu fan etc - Good Luck MBJ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th December 2001, 07:27 PM
jema jema is offline
Ninja Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Swindon,UK
Posts: 11,772
The bios does report the cpu running at 56c, this is with the pci card in.

I guess we are down to systematically piddle and swap about with things

jema
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th December 2001, 10:27 PM
Lolboy's Avatar
Lolboy Lolboy is offline
Ninja Shoi
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 595
Is it me or are you lot in the wrong section?

Slot - socket - slot - socket - slot -soc......

Lolboy.
__________________
Computers - They'll never catch on!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 8th December 2001, 02:56 AM
jema jema is offline
Ninja Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Swindon,UK
Posts: 11,772
have moved it, I did actually try and post in socket A over clocking, but I must have clicked the wrong forum by accident

jema
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 8th December 2001, 08:50 AM
jema jema is offline
Ninja Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Swindon,UK
Posts: 11,772
thanks for the advice folks, in the end I removed the heatsink, removed a lot of dust and fluff, applied a bit of artic silver and hey presto it has started to boot

not really sure how to explain it though

jema
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 8th December 2001, 11:35 AM
The Therion's Avatar
The Therion The Therion is offline
Ninja Taisho
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Athens,Greece
Posts: 2,129
probably couldnt dissipate the heat?
__________________

[list=1]
[*]System 1 : Celeron 300@301 Mhz,96MB RAM,WD HD 1.6 GB,24x CDROM,Soundblaster 16,Intel 8MB SVGA,10 Mbit net card,33600 bps modem,15' Sony monitor,300W decent PSU

[*]System 2 : Duron 700@960 Mhz,384MB PC133 Crucial CL2 RAM,IBM 30GB HD,50x CDROM,Soundblaster live,GF2-Pro SVGA,100 Mbit net card,Addtronics case+PSU. All BIOS settings aggressive.Cooled by 1 FOP32 + 1 12cm front panel fan.Temperatures (chipset/cpu): Idle-->22/29C(71/84F) , Loaded-->33/49C(91/120F).[/list=1]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.