Team Ninja Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Team Ninja Bulletin Board > Team Ninja DC Projects > SETI@home - The Next Generation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th April 2003, 07:19 PM
Talon's Avatar
Talon Talon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Driving the TALON Riot Control Vehicle
Posts: 5,266
Signature Image problem

Ok, I created my very first signature, saved it as a .png file, and loaded it up into Mars Jupiter just fine, however when I select it as an image to use, no text shows up at all! If I revert back to the old image, the text is there, but not in the new. Any help would be greatly appreciated! You can see the sig below to know what I mean.

Talon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th April 2003, 07:23 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Owner
Princess Smartypants
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Almost Heaven...
Posts: 12,960
I think the default text color is black...tho I'm I'm not 100% on that....maybe it's as simple as sticking a hex# in there
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th April 2003, 07:28 PM
Talon's Avatar
Talon Talon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Driving the TALON Riot Control Vehicle
Posts: 5,266
No, I changed the text to the same color as "CHIMAERA" in the image, so it shouldn't be black.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th April 2003, 07:41 PM
Ragnarog Ragnarog is offline
Administrator
Vault Gatekeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Through the tunnel and into the next
Posts: 8,697
I found that on some pics a variety of font colors just wont work...

I think its a php limitation/problem/thing...

Rag
__________________


Ninja SAS

27 Ghz Crunching power

- Do not meddle in the affairs of cats, for they are subtle and will pee on your computer.
- Thousands of years ago, cats were worshipped as gods. Cats have never forgotten this.
- There is no snooze button on a cat who wants breakfast.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th April 2003, 07:46 PM
Rids's Avatar
Rids Rids is offline
Ninja Master
Yeeeehaw
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: TeXaS
Posts: 12,418
I'm having the same probs, can't get the colour to show up properly at the moment. Tried a variety and they all come up looking the same.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th April 2003, 07:55 PM
Talon's Avatar
Talon Talon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Driving the TALON Riot Control Vehicle
Posts: 5,266
The funny thing is, the exact same font color shows up perfectly fine on the other sig image that I was using, which is also a png file. I'm not sure if it has something to do with the layers or not, but it's possible I guess. I created it in PS6 using multiple layers, then merged them all into one and saved it as a png file using the "Save for web" feature to make sure it was the right size limit. At least I am not the only one having a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th April 2003, 07:58 PM
bubbadog bubbadog is offline
Ninja Master
Mrs Rids
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,968
Maybe it needs to be one of the top layers? (Like I have a clue! )
__________________
My site is so dead I have to come here and try to annoy people to get my thrills
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th April 2003, 07:59 PM
Talon's Avatar
Talon Talon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Driving the TALON Riot Control Vehicle
Posts: 5,266
well actually they should all be ONE layer now, unless I screwed something up, which isn't entirely impossible!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30th April 2003, 08:08 PM
Rids's Avatar
Rids Rids is offline
Ninja Master
Yeeeehaw
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: TeXaS
Posts: 12,418
there are no layers in a png
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30th April 2003, 08:15 PM
Rids's Avatar
Rids Rids is offline
Ninja Master
Yeeeehaw
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: TeXaS
Posts: 12,418
ok, sorted
you need to save it as a 128 colour png file. Actually anything except 256 should work, I think it needs a spare colour for the text so even a 255 colour png should work.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30th April 2003, 08:29 PM
Talon's Avatar
Talon Talon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Driving the TALON Riot Control Vehicle
Posts: 5,266
Yup, that does seem to have cleared it up, thanks Rids!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30th April 2003, 08:38 PM
Rids's Avatar
Rids Rids is offline
Ninja Master
Yeeeehaw
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: TeXaS
Posts: 12,418
nice Mike, classy
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30th April 2003, 08:45 PM
Talon's Avatar
Talon Talon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Driving the TALON Riot Control Vehicle
Posts: 5,266
Thank you very much! Not bad for a first try, even if I do say so myself..(and even if it did take me all afternoon!)

Talon
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30th April 2003, 10:47 PM
Chelle Chelle is offline
Owner
Mrs. FWC
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,400
Very nice Mike!

I had that problem with a few, which I saved all in 128 but a couple still wouldn't work. Another thing to try if that happens again is to choose 'perceptual' in the png settings when you save it, and if that doesn't work try 'selective'. There's no rhyme nor reason for it, but one would work on some and the other on others.
__________________
Look Ma, no sig!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 1st May 2003, 12:49 AM
bubbadog bubbadog is offline
Ninja Master
Mrs Rids
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,968
Quote:
Originally posted by Talon
Thank you very much! Not bad for a first try, even if I do say so myself..(and even if it did take me all afternoon!)

Talon
Thank God you used your time productively instead of doing something frivolous like working!


It does look very nice though hon...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.