Team Ninja Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Team Ninja Bulletin Board > DC Vault > New Projects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 19th February 2018, 03:16 PM
Beyond's Avatar
Beyond Beyond is offline
Ars Technica
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rum River
Posts: 247
That's very strange. Yafu has work ready to send in every category and I'm instantly getting work on every machine. What does your log show when you poll for work? What are your work cache settings?

On a somewhat related note: Universe is out of work, Pogs is out of work, SRBase is out of work, TN-Grid is out of work, GPUGrid is out of work, etc. etc. Must be vacation.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 19th February 2018, 06:26 PM
StyM StyM is offline
Ninja Recruit
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SG
Posts: 29
i'm really confused, work cache is set to 10 days for all my machines.

2/20/2018 2:52:11 AM | yafu | Sending scheduler request: Requested by project.
2/20/2018 2:52:11 AM | yafu | Requesting new tasks for CPU
2/20/2018 2:52:15 AM | yafu | Scheduler request completed: got 0 new tasks
2/20/2018 2:52:15 AM | yafu | No tasks sent
2/20/2018 2:52:15 AM | yafu | No tasks are available for YAFU
2/20/2018 2:52:15 AM | yafu | No tasks are available for YAFU for small composites
2/20/2018 2:52:15 AM | yafu | No tasks are available for YAFU-4t
2/20/2018 2:52:15 AM | yafu | No tasks are available for YAFU-8t
2/20/2018 2:52:15 AM | yafu | No tasks are available for YAFU-16t
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 19th February 2018, 06:46 PM
Beyond's Avatar
Beyond Beyond is offline
Ars Technica
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rum River
Posts: 247
Attached file is what I have for preferences.

Also is there anything in your BOINC config that could be limiting?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 20th February 2018, 01:01 PM
iconized iconized is offline
Ninja Jotohei
Dutch Power Cows
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 68
@Beyond: Your resource share is the number of the yeast or so...

Last edited by iconized; 20th February 2018 at 01:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 20th February 2018, 02:49 PM
StyM StyM is offline
Ninja Recruit
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SG
Posts: 29
could be the max # of cpu's i have mine set to 1, not sure why it was set to 1. will try to set it to no limit.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 20th February 2018, 02:57 PM
Beyond's Avatar
Beyond Beyond is offline
Ars Technica
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rum River
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by StyM View Post
could be the max # of cpu's i have mine set to 1, not sure why it was set to 1. will try to set it to no limit.
I'd bet a lot of moola that the max CPUs was the problem. Crunch away in good health!

Last edited by Beyond; 20th February 2018 at 03:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 20th February 2018, 06:54 PM
Coleslaw Coleslaw is offline
[H]ard|OCP
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: IL
Posts: 594
StyM, make it a minimum of 2 because that would be the equivalent of a dual core. Last I chatted with YoYo he didn't have any single thread applications available at the time. That doesn't mean it is always that way, but you may need a minimum of 2 available threads for a single work unit. Otherwise up it to whatever number of threads you want to allocate.

Link to post where he confirmed it: https://yafu.myfirewall.org/yafu/for...postid=836#836
__________________
[link=http://join.worldcommunitygrid.org?recruiterId=338542&tea mId=BP5XNJBR9N1][/link]

Last edited by Coleslaw; 20th February 2018 at 06:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 21st February 2018, 12:54 PM
StyM StyM is offline
Ninja Recruit
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SG
Posts: 29
thanks for the help guys..
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 21st February 2018, 08:54 PM
Coleslaw Coleslaw is offline
[H]ard|OCP
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: IL
Posts: 594
In case anyone else was wondering - https://yafu.myfirewall.org/yafu/for...hp?id=300#1120

The difference between all apps is that they run composites with different length:
- yafu small, requires at least 2 cores runs composites up to C109
- yafu, requires at least 2 cores runs composites up to C124
- yafu-4t, requires exactly 4 cores runs composites up to C129
- yafu-8t, requires exactly 8 cores runs composites up to C134
- yafu-16t, requires at least 16 cores runs composites up to C139
- yafu-32t, requires at least 32 cores runs composites up to C144

In the wu name is a _Cxxx_ part which tells the length of the composite.

Yafu tries different methods to factor a composite. For this it also invokes external commands as ecm or gnfs and some parts are done by yafu.exe itself.

There are also some phases which can be done only single threaded.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.