Team Ninja Bulletin Board  

Go Back   Team Ninja Bulletin Board > The Lounge > Computer Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th January 2012, 04:22 PM
BigBen's Avatar
BigBen BigBen is offline
Ninja Shogun
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 4,679
Which Router

Hi Chaps,
I have a Netgear RP614 (version2) router which I seem to have had forever, now having been given an iPAD 2 and the better half now has a netbook as well as our phones I have decided to enter the 22nd century and get some wireless rather than using my neighbours ... Anyway I still want my main computer to be hard wired with a LAN and so was wondering if anyone can recommend a router than had both capabilities that will suit our needs ... I would like to stick with a Netgear as it has never missed a beat but will change if needed.

Regards
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th January 2012, 09:24 PM
Rusty Rusty is offline
Owner
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 11,193
I have a Netgear DGN2000 4port wireless router. Really easy to setup.

I have my puter hardwired and everything else is wireless(xbox, wii, laptops, phones)
__________________
RUSTY


Team Ninja Forever : Once a Ninja, always a Ninja - Team Ninja

"I'm a SAS NINJA"

Drafted to the SAS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th January 2012, 10:54 AM
Meadmaker Meadmaker is offline
Owner
Feel the need for MEAD!
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: A cave in Northern Lordaeron
Posts: 21,763
Don't get a Thomsen - they're...err......not very good.
__________________
- Never try to out-stubborn a cat
- A giraffe is a horse designed by a committee
- An elephant is a mouse built to government specifications

attributed to Lazarus Long




Dump of the day in 17OB   Dump of the week in 17OB   Dump of the month in 17OB  
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th January 2012, 03:36 PM
BigBen's Avatar
BigBen BigBen is offline
Ninja Shogun
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 4,679
Hi,
Thx for the suggestion, I will check out the Netgear the other suggestion I have had is the linksys BEFSR41-v2

I guess I will have to do some reading it has been 6+ years since I checked out routers lol

Regards
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th January 2012, 04:38 PM
Meadmaker Meadmaker is offline
Owner
Feel the need for MEAD!
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: A cave in Northern Lordaeron
Posts: 21,763
I used to have a Linksys system which connected all my comps using the existing telephone cabling - it was easy to install (even on Win 98/2k) and reliable. Never let me down until I replaced it when I got my broadband connection and router
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th January 2012, 02:42 AM
Jules Jules is offline
Owner
Princess Smartypants
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Almost Heaven...
Posts: 12,960
I'll second Linksys. It's super easy..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th March 2012, 04:04 PM
Scooby Doo's Avatar
Scooby Doo Scooby Doo is offline
The Original Muppet
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 952
I'm a little late to the party but I suggest you get one thats IPv6 compatible for when we finally get with the times over here in th UK LOL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.