PDA

View Full Version : Site access difficulties


vaio
2nd November 2007, 03:45 AM
Greetings :)

One of my teammates is unable to access the site and get his daily dc vault stats fix for some reason.

He asked me to inquire as to any blocked ISP's or address ranges as he can't figure what the problem can be.

His service provider is SBC Internet Services, and the static IP is 75.51.221.66.

Can anyone shed any light on this?

Thank you :)

Rusty
2nd November 2007, 04:52 AM
I will bump this to nanobot mate... Thanks for letting us know

Nanobot
2nd November 2007, 11:49 PM
Our hosting company have checked the logs and we are not blocking that IP address.

They did note that there are a few problems accessing the NOC via certain routes so it may be worth doing a tracert to see where the blockage exists, if it still does.

Chelle
3rd November 2007, 01:05 PM
We're on a new server and NOC now, let us know if that does the trick for him.

umccullough
3rd November 2007, 03:54 PM
Looks like every team link from the Overall Scores page goes to Team Ninja now...

vaio
3rd November 2007, 05:45 PM
Tracing route to 216.255.183.94-custblock.intercage.com [216.255.183.94]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms adsl-76-214-177-241.dsl.ipltin.sbcglobal.net [76
.214.177.241]
2 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms adsl-76-214-179-254.dsl.ipltin.sbcglobal.net [76
.214.179.254]
3 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms dist2-vlan60.ipltin.ameritech.net [67.36.128.243
]
4 11 ms 10 ms 11 ms bb2-g8-0.ipltin.sbcglobal.net [151.164.241.198]

5 26 ms 26 ms 25 ms 151.164.95.166
6 25 ms 25 ms 24 ms ge1-11.fr1.ord.llnw.net [151.164.249.110]
7 26 ms 25 ms 25 ms 60.ae0.cr1.ord1.us.nlayer.net [69.31.111.129]
8 105 ms 75 ms 116 ms so-2-3-0.cr1.sfo1.us.nlayer.net [69.22.142.78]
9 72 ms 73 ms 74 ms ge1-1.hr1.sfo1.us.nlayer.net [69.22.143.2]
10 75 ms 75 ms 76 ms atrivo.ge1-4.hr1.sfo1.us.nlayer.net [69.22.128.2
50]
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * ^C

umccullough
3rd November 2007, 06:55 PM
That looks more like intentionally bad DNS resolution to me... does his DNS server spit back bad IPs for blocked websites or something?

For me here, dc-vault.com resolves to: 74.86.192.202

Edit: can be tested by having this person put the following line(s) into their "hosts" file:

74.86.192.202 dc-vault.com
74.86.192.202 www.dc-vault.com

(the second one is to satisfy any urls that might have the www hostname)