PDA

View Full Version : Best long term nonet project/cleint


wyles
13th April 2003, 01:31 AM
Hey all...

Im setting a pooter up in my rural office and I believe the law dictates that any computer must be running a DC project :D

The office is only attended every two weeks and is on dialup. The old gah0.99 client would have been perfect, but since that side of things is closing down does anyone know of a project or client that would be suitable?

Cheers!!

CyberdynSystems
13th April 2003, 01:33 AM
DF is pretty good no net with DF gui,.. but I think the client changed so my info may be out of date... :scratch:

CyberdynSystems
13th April 2003, 01:34 AM
But why am I telling you this?,. you've used DF :noevil:

wyles
13th April 2003, 01:40 AM
Cheers CDS :)
Id thought of that - but if the protein changes during an off week Id lose all the data (its 250kms from here)

Fireblade
13th April 2003, 05:14 AM
Why not set it to run G@H until the classic version ends Wylie... G@H classic (0.99) is the best/easiest ~nonet client there is :cunning:

JDErickson
13th April 2003, 05:27 AM
Wylie,
RC5-72 may be a candidate. If it can't connect it runs random units until it can connect. Since the project is so new its almost impossible to get a random dup unit.

I have 2 machines in the wild that I'm running this way. Every few weeks when I can get to them I then upload them,

Jim

10:13
13th April 2003, 06:45 AM
I have to agree with JD on this one ... probably the best to try at this point is RC5 or OGR ... RC5 preferably simply becuase the the time it takes to do a unit is predictable. All the Dnet projects allow you to define how many units to cache, the units do not "expire" for somewhere on the order of months, plus if you do run out it will do random units (which at this stage of RC5-72 means you are likely not to lose much work because someone has already done it ... ) ... however, near as I can tell it's not difficult to cache several weeks worth of units if you need to ... plus the Dnet clients are among the least agressive clients when it comes to giving up the CPU to another process.

Monkeymia
13th April 2003, 08:46 AM
You might also like to consider our newest project Find-a-Drug (http://www.find-a-drug.co.uk) that allows you to cache units.

Further details can be found in my thread here (http://www.ninjamicros.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=22216)

wyles
13th April 2003, 02:23 PM
Thanks all!
I'll give RC5 a go and see how it pans out

checking out find-a-drug also MM....cheers

dnar
13th April 2003, 02:58 PM
There is also http://stephenbrooks.org/muon1/