PDA

View Full Version : XP OverClocking


TheBaby
6th October 2002, 06:04 PM
I have an Athlon XP 1600+, on a MSI K7N420 Pro motherboard. I was wondering how overclockable this processor is. I can't change the multiplier, as my chip is not unlocked and really can only actually change the fsb. I can't afford much in the way of extra cooling as im a very poor student :violin:

Thanks :)

loukis
6th October 2002, 06:27 PM
Firstly, welcome to Ninjamicros :D
Ragnarog's XP 1600+ chip runs at 1574 Mhz (150x10.5). I am not aware what the default multiplier of the chip is. You can check out a thread regarding a XP 2000 but it might be helpful when increasing the FSB http://www.ninjamicros.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=15795

Be careful :) There is lots of info on the above thread.

Fireblade
6th October 2002, 11:27 PM
If it's an AGOIA' core chip TheBaby... very overclockable :D

There's a guy on the Club Overclocker (http://forums.cluboverclocker.com/viewtopic.php?t=19&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=50) forums has managed t' get his up to 2200+ speeds :eek:

Granted... that's with an unlocked CPU... but it gives you an idea of the potential of this particular chip! Having read what he's achieved, I'm gonna be buyin' a couple o' these chips myself :thumbsup:

TheBaby
7th October 2002, 12:10 PM
how can i tell if its a AGOIA 1600+ then?

2200+ from a air cooled 1600+. im thinking about buying an unlocked one, and getting me a bios update so i can change the multiplier! :D

CyberdynSystems
7th October 2002, 06:25 PM
The XP1600s seem to run very cool. I have a 1700 that is an unusually cool running CPU i can really thrash!

10.5 is the Multiplier for the XP1600. I've been able to push both my 1600 and 1700 much farther than my First XP which is an XP1900. The 1900 does not like to go more than a few FSB bumps above stock. And despite the fact that I unlocked the 1900, I can't increase the Multiplier without compronmising stability!

If you want to unlock that XP1600, there are excellent how to's in the forum. (thats how I found Ninja Micros)

http://www.ninjamicros.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=12031

http://www.ninjamicros.com/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=12036

dodgygeeeza
7th October 2002, 11:08 PM
hi cyber, i also run a 1700 and that runs pretty cool, o/c to 1623mhz on a bog standard hs/f and running g@h 24hrs a day:cool:
cpu temp while under 100% load 46c....

jozzer
12th October 2002, 08:04 PM
Hi...I got one of these motherboards, and I have to say you should unlock the chip in order to do any overclocking. Mine can't overclock very much on the fsb at all before the onboard sound/lan starts playing games.

WesM63
14th October 2002, 04:16 AM
Hey guys,
Where's all the o/c gurus?
Anywase, thebaby, you'll have to take the hsf off and look at the core to see the stepping (i.e. agoia). It should look somthing like this
"Ax1600mt3c
Agoia0213bp1w
y8054480706"

Thats off my agoia stepping. The first row tells the model,second row tells stepping (agoia),year(02),week(13). Row three tells how new of a stepping it is (y). I think row three is right, i just know that y's are good.

As someone said 1600's have 10.5 multipliers which is good. There really is no need in unlocking these unless you want massive FSB. Although i bought mine unlocked, i run it at 12.5x133 until i get my mobo replaced.

Cooling should not be a problem, just keep an eye on it. If it gets above 55C that's bad, take it downa notch. As a rule of thumb don't raise v.core unless unstability is encountered.

Good luck, and if your system is'nt throwing blue screens then it aint clocked high enough.

bldegle2
14th October 2002, 01:57 PM
the newest issue of the 1600 are running cooler than the older ones, and i have been reading of people clocking with the stock heatsink now that it is getting into cooler weather.

anyway, fire the puppy up and use the system until you can afford a better heatsink/fan combo, then clock the mutha even further.

10.5x166 snaps pretty damn good with aggressive ram timings.

go for it.

baldy

dalethfc
4th December 2002, 06:10 PM
My 1700 will only clock to about 1800 speed it's in a GA-7DXR
The Bios is auto bar the FSB and Volts and thats the most stable I can get it to run at :(