PDA

View Full Version : Connecting to the net through my Router

BigBen
13th September 2002, 12:37 PM
Hi Chaps,
OK this is my first attempt to at this networking thing and its gone wrong already lmao :(
All I want to do is connect my sons and my computers to the internet sharing my broadband connection. I am using XP Pro
I have a Linksys BEFSR41 router and have connected my cable modem to the WAN port and connected my PC to port 1 of the Router (not connected my sons yet ,just want to get mine working) ........and no matter what I do I cannot get connected to the net All the lights come on correctly and have tried loads of settings all wrong I guess ......The Linksys comes with an installation wizard on CD but you must have a internet connection up and running before its any use.
I left it over night to see if the modem and router would sort themselves out with the MAC address but had no luck still no net access ... Do the routers have a built in MAC address? as I could register that with blueyonder (my ISP)

Can you help me!!! otherwise the holes I have been drilling through my ceiling will have been for nothing :D

Regards

^7_of_9
13th September 2002, 01:18 PM
Yes the router does have an internal MAC address.
If you find the MAC Address out you might want to tell BY then what it is as they may have yours pre-registered.

Also you can try turning the cable modem off for a couple of minutes and then turning it back on then as well.

Another thing to try would be the Web Admin portion of your router.

Connect your computer back up to the router and then release your IP Address and renew it.

Win 9X/ME - Click START --> RUN --> WINIPCFG --> OK--> RELEASE ALL --> RENEW

WinNT/XP - Click START --> RUN --> CMD --> OK --> IPCONFIG /RELEASE --> IPCONFIG /RENEW

Once that part is done then try connecting to the following IP's:
http://192.168.0.1
http://192.168.0.2
http://192.168.1.1
http://192.168.1.2